Current Openings

At an upcoming meeting, the MSBA Board of Governors will conduct elections for the following positions:

MN State Board of Continuing Legal Education (3 openings) – The terms of Susan Lenczewski, Ramsey County, Charles MacLean, Hennepin County, and Steven Messick, Rice County, expire June 30, 2024. Each incumbent has served one term and is eligible to serve one additional term.

Bar Admissions Advisory Council (3 openings) – The terms of Landon Ascheman, Ramsey County, Anjie Flowers, Hennepin County, and David Schultz, Ramsey County, expire July 1, 2024. This council does not have term limits.
Central Minnesota Legal Services (2 openings) – The terms of Mary Fenske, Hennepin County, and Jon Saunders, Kandiyohi County, expire April 30, 2024. This board does not have term limits.

Interested, qualified members are encouraged to apply or to encourage any eligible Association member who is interested to apply. Please submit a resume and the Qualifications & Interest Form to Andrew Olson by January 31, 2024.

Elections/Appointments Committee

The Elections/Appointments Committee reviews Qualifications & Interest Forms submitted by members interested in serving on outside boards and related positions.  Through that review and short interviews, the Committee develops recommendations for the Assembly to fill positions on a variety of boards.

Positions filled through this process include:

  • MSBA Secretary (At-Large seat under Bylaw 9.2.3)
  • Three Assembly Representative on the Board of Governors (Bylaw 7.2)
  • MCLE Board
  • Minnesota State Bar Foundation Board of Directors
  • Minnesota Supreme Court Boards:
    • Bar Admissions Advisory Council (3 seats)
    • Client Security Board (3 seats)
    • Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board (6 seats)
    • Legal Services Advisory Committee (4 seats)
    • Board of Continuing Legal Education (6 seats)
    • Board of Legal Certification (3 seats)
  • Legal Services Boards:
    • Anishinabe Legal Services
    • Central Minnesota Legal Services
    • Southern Minnesota Legal Services
  • MSBA Delegates to the ABA

Andrew Olson

Executive Assistant