Children and Predatory Offender Registration in Minnesota | Recent Proposals for Legislative Reform

Co-sponsored by the Children and the Law Section and Criminal Law Section.

Under Minnesota law, children as young as 10 years old can be required to register as predatory offenders. In 2021, the Minnesota Legislature enacted the creation of the Predatory Offender Statutory Framework Working Group to comprehensively assess the predatory offender statutory framework” in Minn. Stat. § 243.166. The working group submitted its report to the Legislature on February 1, 2022, and there has been press coverage regarding that report. One of the recommendations is to enact legislation to remove the statutory requirement that youths with an applicable juvenile adjudication register as predatory offender but retain registration requirements for those youths certified as adults (ages 14-17) who are then convicted of an adult offense requiring registration.

This CLE is approved for credit through May 4, 2025.

Stacy L. Bettison | Attorney | Kelly, Wolter & Scott, P.A.
Mackenzie Boland | Associate Attorney | Lanners & Olson, P.A.
Angela Kiese | Assistant Attorney General | Minnesota Attorney General’s Office

CLE Credits:
1.0 Standard CLE Credit approved | Event Code: 484941

MSBA Members:  $29.95
Non-MSBA Members:  $64.95



In Stock