MSBA Section
All MSBA sections

2011-12 Annual Report

Annual Report Archives

Section Membership
As of June 26, 2012, the Environmental, Natural Resource, and Energy Law Section has 268 members.  This is a 2.7% increase in membership since July 1, 2011.

Financial Status
The Environmental, Natural Resource, and Energy Law Section had an account balance of $4043.87 as of May 31, 2012. 

Continuing Legal Education Programs and Social Events
The Section hosted four CLE programs in fiscal year 2011-12, including the Section’s annual “State of the Environment” program.  Additionally, the Section co-sponsored the 8th Annual Minnesota Environmental Institute with Minnesota CLE.  The Section also hosted one law student outreach program and one social event. 

Program Date

Program Title

CLE Event Code and Credit

# of Attendees


The Annual Law Student & New Lawyers PIZZA RECEPTION!




The State of the Environment Agency Update

161535 / 3.5 Standard



Annual Happy Hour




Regulatory Framework for Mining in Minnesota

162430 / 1.0 Standard



Role of Experts in Environmental Litigation

164905 / 1.0 Standard



Annual Meeting and "Chemical Management and Policy in Minnesota" CLE

167355 / 1.0 Standard


Legislation and Amicus Briefs
The Environmental, Natural Resource, and Energy Section did not submit any legislative proposals or amicus briefs in the 2011-12 term.

Annual Meeting and Election Results
The Section’s annual meeting and elections were held in conjunction with a CLE on May 16, 2012, at the Minnesota State Bar Association offices in Minneapolis, MN.  

The following individuals were elected to serve as officers in 2012-13:

Chair: David Zoll
Vice Chair: Dan Schleck
Treasurer: Aleava Sayre
Secretary: Lindsey Hemly

The following individuals were elected to serve as Council Delegates from July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2014:

Katie Roek                           
Eldon Kaul                                                                                                               
Gregory Korstad                                                                             
Thaddeus R. Lightfoot                                           
Larisa Vishkovetsky                       
Charles Nauen                                 
Steve Nyhus                                                                         
Michael Welch                                                        


The following individuals will serve as the Section’s MSBA Assembly representative and alternate in 2012-13:

Representative: David Zoll
Alternate: Sara Peterson

Other Section Accomplishments

  • The ENRE Section offers call-in options for our CLEs, to encourage out-state members to be more involved.
  • The Section had a great turnout at the 7th Annual Minnesota Environmental Institute, and 17 discounts for public sector/government lawyers were utilized.  A total of 35 additional attendees called in to hear the keynote presentation by Barbara Freese.
  • Several law students from the University of Minnesota, St. Thomas, Hamline and William Mitchell attended our events and were mentored by our members. 
  • The 2012 ENRE Section Distinguished Service Award was awarded to attorney Brian O’Neill for his tireless, decades-long commitment to environmental public interest litigation in Minnesota and across the country.
  • The Section held a student writing contest this year, open to all law students attending law school in Minnesota.  University of Minnesota third-year student Brad Hammer won the contest for his paper titled Turning Brown to Green: Renewable Energy Development on Minnesota Brownfield Properties.  Brad was honored at the 2012 Environmental Institute.


Submitted By:

Sara Peterson, Section Chair



- Last Updated 06/28/2011 -

  Minnesota State Bar Association
600 Nicollet Mall, #380, Minneapolis, MN 55402
(612) 333-1183 | (800) 882-6722
MSBA Facebook MSBA Twitter
MSBA LinkedIn